Cade's Garden

A drawing of a brown and cream colored cat with long black hair laying down using a mouse and looking at a laptop

Blog

My silly ramblings

Welcome to my Blog! I post here every month or two usually about anything going on in it or just about anything I feel in the mood to talk about. Scroll down to see past posts! I also run a mico blog, you can find it right under this, it's mostly just my own thoughts about whatever. I will have the most recent entry listed on my home page under the updates section and mentioned on my neocities page!

All blog posts have a cat/oriental shorthair gif under it. If you would prefer to view a version of this page with no animations you can find it here

Micro blog


Most Recent Post: December and January Monthly Post

2/4/24

Hai everyone!! I am FINALLY back ^^ . I hope everyone has had a good holiday season and new year so far :3. I know in the last blog post I made here I said I was going to be working on a lot of updates over December and then life happened so not a whole hell of a lot was updated here minus a handful of site graphics, hence why there was no December art post. A lot has gone on the past two months and I think maybe I will just make a dedicated micro blog entry about everything thats gone on and some other stuff planned for the microblog but the big TLDR is; had to take several tests and procedures and got diagnosed with PCOS, wrap up a large chunk of my commissions/owed art, have my house tented for termites, grieve the passing of my grandmother, start my spring semester of college, and start to refixate on stardew valley and spend most of my free time doing nothing but playing stardew and lethal company with my irl friends. So YEAH- it’s been fucking busy to say the least, but I am settling back into a routine again so I figured it’s time to tackle my list of updates for the site. I recently got an iPad for school and other work and it has been super helpful and I plan to use it to help with working on developing this site more! Today I managed to get a lot of the smaller, more surface level updates I wanted to work on done such as a couple new buttons in the other links, a fully functional version of my first site design, the yearly gallery and update reset, and some new stamps in my about me. Current plans for this month are mostly shrine related (I have a lot of ideas I want to start coding like my theriotypes and a few things related to internet/childhood nostalgia online) but I may try squeezing in some time to work on finishing updating my ocs/sonas section and some extra credit for images in said site pages. With that said, that's pretty much everything I wanted to provide an update on, I will begin to hopefully be more active here again now that I am starting to find my routine again! Hope you all have a great day :3

-Cade

A gif of a siamese oriental shorthair laying on a chair and yawning

Past Blog Posts


November Monthly Post

12/2/23

Hai all ^^ !! Super short blog post cause I legit have nothing to say site wise. No real major updates this month, I have been really busy with school and kinda got all the major changes down with my site here! I still have a lot of plans down the line (not just for this site!) but that will likely come now that we are in December once my finals are over next week. Overall I will be back here later to continue working on updating this site and my other sites! Also this month’s art is up as well :3. Have a good day everyone! ^^

-Cade

A gif of an grey oriental shorthair sitting and meowing

September and October Monthly Post

10/22/23

Haii Everyone!! I have returned with yet another bi-monthly blog (to be fair nothing happened in September here outside of the fact I started adding shrines to the site). Most of this blog will be focused on changes that have happened so far in October since the month hasn’t ended yet so consider this an early October blog! The reason I am doing this blog in particular earlier than I probably would have is because as of yesterday (October 21st) The site is officially a year old! It’s kinda crazy to think I have had this site for as long as I have but it has officially been a year since making it! I definitely have learned a lot since making my site considering this is the first time I have made an entire website using html (only other experience I had prior to this was coding on toyhouse). I originally considered listing everything I have done on here so far but then I realized this post would be way too long, so if you are interested in knowing about everything I have done on here since creating this site, you can find that on my new update log page here. And hey speaking of new changes, let’s talk about them! I’m sure the most obvious one to anyone reading this is the layout. I recently, finally, retired my old layout that used the sadgrl layout builder in favor of this responsive and accessible layout by punkwasp (you can find them in my other links and my credit page!). I really love how the site looks now with it and I am very glad the site is more accessible too! I have recently tried to make my site more accessible (considering my old layout had several glaring issues that made it inaccessible for many) and there are several new options and features on the site that make it more accessible. I hope people enjoy the site's new layout as much as I do, I really do love how it looks and thanks again punkwasp for creating the template! A few more major changes that have happened so far this month include: moving my guestbook on site, a light/dark mode toggle, the removal of the music player (songs i enjoy are still here, just instead as links on my about page), added a microblog, and compressed all large images! The full list of changes can be found again on my update log. I really wanted to have all these major changes done by the time I wrote this blog for the site's one year anniversary and the fact I got it all done in like a week is impressive (especially when you take into account I still am doing school work and taking breaks due to chronic migraines/pain), never let me get fixated on site coding for too long lol. It was unintentional that my birthday and site’s birthday are a day apart but I think it’s kinda cool that they are! I made a post about my birthday over on my microblog for those interested. One last thing before I wrap up this blog, I am currently planning out a brand new site with one of my irl friends. It is still in the very early stages but let's just say, expect to adopt some free digital pets for your website (or anywhere else you’re on that supports HTML code) in the near future! That seems to be pretty much everything I wanted to say! November’s blog post is going to be much shorter than this. I will continue to work on this site and any of my other sites; also September art will likely be up by tonight or tommorrow! Hope you all have a good day, and since there won't be another one of these monthly blogs till November, have a happy Halloween too!

-Cade

A gif of an orange oriental shorthair kneeding on the back of a white oriental shorthair that is laying down

August Monthly Post

9/13/23

I actually got a monthly blog out before the month ends, who knew! A lot less to write about this time because I am now in the never ending cycle of waking up, driving to campus for class, once my class is over I leave, and then go home and sleep or on the rare occasion do something enjoyable for myself. I have gotten addicted to Chicken Smoothie back in August as well and I am now recruiting people to join me and my fun over there because it fuels my whimsical urge to collect fictional pets and critters (also thank you for the feature on my drawing!!) Site wise I actually have a lot planned out for September (even though we are already halfway through) and at first I kinda wanted to keep it a surprise but since its taking me a bit I might as well share, I am adding a shrines tab! The pages on there are going to be kinda about whatever personally interests me or that I find cool in the moment, already have a topics list to start off laid out and I have the coding done on a few of them. I plan on making the landing page soon so once that happens they will all be there! Thats about it, will keep you all posted!

-Cade

A gif of a grey and tan tabby oriental shorthair on its back on a persons legs playing and biting a piece of string

June and July Monthly Post

8/26/23

Looks like blogs might be bimonthly now lol. Jokes aside hai everyone, boy have I been busy. College has been a lot of work to manage ever since I started back in June. Most of my time has been attending classes, driving home, working on assignments, and then sleeping. This seems to be the routine now ;sob. However! I still am able to find a bit of time to spend editing my site and spending some time on neocities, I have absolutely zero plans to stop posting and editing on here (especially given the current social media landscape but more on that later in this post). All I ask is your patience, I wanted this to be a monthly thing but it can be a bit hard to find time to post sometimes during a month and that causes me to end up posting almost 2-3 months later. I am trying to see what I can do to help manage that but really all I ask is some patience with blog posts and site updates now that I am in college. I am sure down the line I will adjust a bit more to all of this. In addition to this blog I did actually update the site a bit! Mostly just small graphic details and a handful of text in addition to updating the gallery which you should check out! July especially has a lot of pieces because of art fight (Shout out to the rest of team werewolves for winning we slayed) so it would be worth it to check that month out! The oc page also got a minor update so if you do not follow me on toyhouse here is a chance to check out my new characters and sonas! The last update to the site is my links page! I have added two new links, Bluesky and Chicken Smoothie! This is in an effort to move away from social media (especially the bird app) since it has been very mentally draining, and pretty much just use it for posting art while I spend most of my personal time on more fun sites. Still have a lot of plans for this site including a page for shrines/other random pages in addition to my side project archiving all dead/abandoned malls in the US (Check it out if you have not already! You can find it on the site sidebar) That is pretty much it in terms of updates, I might continue to work on some of those new pages here in my free time and who knows, maybe I will get a blog post out on time in September! Anyways take care everyone (and thank you for 20K views!!!)

-Cade

A gif of a siamese oriental shorthair kitten blinking in a black bag while being pet

April and May Monthly Post

6/16/23

Going to keep this post super simple since I am very late posting a blog entry (The last one was in March) but life is lifing and I am just trying to get by rn sob. It has been hectic, especially working on finalizing my way to college and graduating this month and starting classes this monday so all I can really say rn is sorry for the late post and I do have some art to share. Things from June on out should lighten up again in my life so maybe I can get back to working on my site, being more active, and maybe getting around to some bigger projects I had in mind like the dead malls site. Also the next blog entry will be on time finally. For now I hope everyone is doing good, I miss this place. Take care everyone AND PLAY TEARS OF THE KINGDOM GRRGRGRRRRR

-Cade

A gif of a black and white oriental shorthair with green eyes on a counter meowing and moving closer to the camera

March Monthly Post

4/10/23

Well I guess I am fashionably late to posting this but hey better late then never! I actually dont have a lot to even post or say this month considering the site stayed pretty stagnant and my departure for this month. The TLDR is pretty much just that I got busy and wanted to dedicate time to other things like drawing and getting stuff sorted out for college which is going to continue over to this month as well. Meaning im probably not going to be too active here, I got plans though so once im more settled down I will get back to work on that! Thats really all I have to say,I noticed this site hit over 10K views which is really cool, thanks everyone! Short post this month but theres some more art I made last month so feel free to check that out too! I will be back again next month, maybe a little late again who knows. Take care!

-Cade

A gif of a grey oriental shorthair kitten with floppy ears sitting on a pet bed

February Monthly Post

3/3/23

Hey everyone! I am two days late to writing this but Ive been pretty busy lately. I am nearing the end of my senior year and as a result I have a lot coming up that I need to plan for. Besides that though February has been a busy month for site updates! I have gone through a slight redesign design wise with updated looks to pages as well as several new pages added such as characters, other links, and interests. Feel free to check those pages out if you havent already! Some pages are still under construction (such as interests) but for the most part theyre finished. With that said though March might be stagnant with updates for the time being. I already mentioned it but ive been pretty busy already and that will continue through the first few weeks of March and possibly after that. Between getting things finalized for myself as well as cleaning out my art queue its time consuming and im not sure when I will have time to edit this site. I have some future plans however that I want to add to my to-do list and one of these is a frequent sketch journal page. Basically anytime I do some sketches that I want to post somewhere they will go there! They will all vary in quality but I think it could be interesting and keep me actively updating this site! This will likely happen later in March. February was a little uneventful in my personal life, I think the most eventful thing was the new trailer for Tears of the Kingdom (70 more days man :sob) and spent some time experimenting with my art! With that said I think thats about it for everything that happened in February, have a good day everyone!

-Cade

A gif of two oriental shorthairs, one white with few light brown marks, the other all black, meowing on a countertop

January Monthly Post

2/1/23

Hello everyone!! It has officially been a month since 2023 started and I can definitely say that I have been busy both on here and off of here. It has been a busy month but also a sorta productive one! I honestly dont have much to say about my own life right now other than I have been busy, hopefully I can reach a point where I can at least rest again for a little bit soon. The main thing I wanted to write about here this month was the slightly updated site update! I updated a couple graphics and features here to better reflect how I want my site to look and overall so far im very happy! I still have some pages to update before I begin working on new pages (mainly just my about page and some drawings under the commissions page) but besides that im pretty happy with how this turned out! I suppose I can use this as a way to mention everything that I have updated so far and new pages that will be added this month which include: new site graphics, a to-do section on the home page, an updated music player that works on mobile(FINALLY), a site button so you can link back to this site on your own page, and several new pages coming soon! (see the navigation tab). Progress on this site will be continuing soon, you can view the to-do list to see what I have planned next! Thats all I have to say this month but I will continue to write updates on my neocities page once I make new updates here! Have a good day :)

-Cade

A gif of a siamese oriental shorthair kitten stretching

December Monthly Post

1/6/23

Hey everyone! Hope you all had a good holiday season and a good new year! Sorry about the delay in updating the site plus writing this blog. I wanted to take some time to reorganize my living space and relax. I have kept myself pretty busy lately and just didnt have time to update the site or write one of these blog entries. The site is finally updated to reflect the new year which does mean some small changes. All art from last year is now in a folder so if you would like to view any of my art from each month (all 76 drawings!) you can click the link on the gallery page and it will take you straight there! Besides that the only new thing I have to announce is that I may be making a second site based on one of my special interests being dead/abandoned malls! It has been something that has captivated me for awhile and I would love to create a page dedicated to collecting information on each one in the US (for now, I could do international ones too all depending on how time consuming this is). Its a big project and when I have more information on when I plan on launching it I will post a blog entry here! For now thats about it! Have a good day everyone

-Cade

A gif of a brown oriental shorthair

November Monthly Post

12/1/22

Forgot to post this yesterday, sorry about that!! November has been a really busy month for me between my own college applications and just simply getting ready for my own future. Dont have a whole lot to say though besides that! Only few things I really want to mention is that the November art is now viewable in my gallery so check out the pieces I did this month if you would like! And also the possibility that I might be starting a kofi soon to help fund some future life related thing. This mainly being medical transition (This being going on testosterone and top surgery) and other life related things such as seeking therapy. It will be an important way to help receive funding for things I have wanted and needed for over 6 years now. More details will be shared about this later but for now thats it. Have a great day!

-Cade

A gif of an oriental shorthair peaking through a box

Website is Done!!!

11/6/22

ITS DONE!!!! FINALLY!! This took about 3 weeks to fully put together but it is done and I am so happy with how it turned out! Might make some edits here and there but I am very satisfied! Looking foward to being more active on here and sharing my art :) I also added a Guestbook incase anyone wants to comment here! you can find it in the navigation bar. Thats all for now, have a good day everyone!

-Cade

A gif of a cat dancing

October Monthly Post

10/31/22

Happy Halloween everyone!!! Hope yall have a good day however you choose to celebrate today. October has been a super busy month for me between school, my 18th birthday, and editing and creating this website that, as of right now, is still not done. Most of it however is finished! The home, about, links, and of course blog page are all done! Really its just my art pages that still need to be formed and Im still figuring out how I want to do that. Mainly just figuring how I want it to look lol. I want people to view them in full size and not have to zoom in to see the drawings so Im thinking about posting them onto maybe Dropbox and linking it back as my gallery but it will take a few to do so comeback maybe after the 5th of November to see that. Commissions just need to be formatted the way I want and then I will be done there. Also should mention here that my plan normally once everything is done is to link here my art for the month but since Im behind on making my gallery I will make a separate blog post for it this time. But besides that this place is basically almost done and Im very happy with how it turned out!! :) I plan to update here pretty frequently (along with these longer monthly posts) and basically have this be my main place to upload my art and anything else. I think thats all I wanted to say, November is probably going to be very busy for me as well but hopefully I can be active here too! Hope yall have a good rest of your day :)

-Cade

A gif of an oriental shorthair meowing

1st Post!!

10/25/22

Hey!!! This is more of a test to see how these posts will look! I dont have much else to say for now so I will be back here again once this site is done or on the 31st whichever comes first!

A gif of an oriental shorthair looking at a camera